Texas in a Crockpot

I love to cook and have been wanting to start posting some new recipes I try on my blog for a while.  I know I have a lot of readers that have families to cook for and figure you all might appreciate if I take a “Julie & Julia”-esk approach to some recipes!  I feel rather adventurous committing myself to not only trying 1 new recipe a week.. but with taking pictures and following through with posting! But I am trying to stay confident that I will be able to stick with it. I am not going to pick a certain day of the week, but I promise to post my ” new recipe of the week” sometime between Monday and Friday. So without further or do, my first recipe:

I am always on the hunt for new (and easy!) recipes.  I love my crockpot so anytime I come across a recipe that is easy AND involves my crockpot, I go for it.  Recently my friend Katy from Texas emailed me a recipe and told me I’d love it, and to think of Texas when I ate it.  So I did! I named this recipe “Texas in a Crockpot” (even though I didn’t MAKE up the recipe, I’m not sure what it was called and I think this sounds appropriate!) .  Enjoy!

You will need:

 1 bag of frozen corn
1 can of black beans, rinsed and drained
2 cups chicken broth
1 packet taco seasoning
2 frozen chicken breasts
1 jar of any salsa you like
tortillas (corn or flour, whatever you like)
shredded cheese (I used the mexican blend)

Put the beans and corn in your crockpot. 

Sprinkle the taco seasoning on top. 

Pour in chicken broth.

 Put the 2 frozen chicken breasts on top and pour the entire jar of salsa over them. 

I cooked it on high for 4 hours, but I’m sure you could cook on low for 6-8 too. 

When you have 3o minutes left of cooking time, use 2 forks to pull apart and shred the chicken, then continue cooking.

When you are ready to get that taste of Texas Tex-Mex, you can either scoop it and serve it in a bowl topped with cheese and the tortillas on the side, or strain some of the liquid out and serve it like a taco. 

Since there’s only 2 of us, we will have left-overs that will get us through a few lunches and another dinner! We really enjoyed this recipe and I hope you will too!

Thanks to Katy for sharing this recipe with me!

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Texas in a Crockpot

  1. Ann

    Sounds yummy! Might have to try it. I’ve actually never used my crockpot & I’ve had it for 8 years. How sad is that?! LOL

  2. Annie — I am reading this post while I am starving, and this recipe sounds delicious! I will have to try it very soon. I also love the crockpot!! I look forward to seeing your weekly recipe posts. What a great idea!!

    Love,
    Aunt Monica

  3. Katy

    I am so glad you tried it!! I am so flattered that you posted it! Happy eating!

    Love ya,
    Katy

  4. Katy

    Hope you loooved the dinner as much as we did!

    Love ya,
    Katy

Leave a Reply

