Close to Our Hearts

Most of you know my husband is in Law Enforcement and is a Deputy for the Orange County Sheriffs Department.  I am SO VERY PROUD of what he does each and every day, in serving the community, helping to make it a safer place and putting his life on the line in order to do so.  It is important that I share this post with you because it hits home for us and is something we feel very passionately about.  I think it is amazing that Eric is volunteering so much of his time and energy (literally!) to support such an important organization.  Please take the time to read the following letter and email me: mrsanniemurray@gmail.com – to get the address if you would like to and are able to mail a donation.  We are very grateful to any and everyone that can help.  We realize finances are tight for many right now, but no matter the size, any donations are appreciated.  Thank you!

Dear Family & Friends,
 
I find great pride in being dedicated to a profession that is filled with heroes.  Sadly, many of those heroes lose their lives in the line of duty each year.  More often then not, a family is left behind.  Being a Law Enforcement Officer with a wife and child myself, an organization like Project 999 is close to my heart. 
 
Forty-eight Peace Officers from 19 different law enforcement agencies have died in the line of duty in Orange County.  Each of those officers left behind a family in need.  The Sheriff’s Advisory Council’s Project 999 was established to help the financially vulnerable family of a fallen officer with the unexpected expenses and to make sure they are not left to fend for themselves.  It doesn’t matter what agency the officer worked for; the fund is available to the family of any Peace Officer killed or injured in the line of duty in Orange County.
 
I am writing to ask for your support as I pay tribute to all Fallen Peace Officers and raise money for the Project 999 fund by participating in a 630 mile Memorial Bike ride in May. Yes, you read that right.  630 miles! I will be completeling the entire 630 miles on my trusty road bike!
 
On May 21st, 2010, myself and the rest of Team 999 will pedal from Sacramento to the streets of San Francisco; up the hills and along the cliffs of Big Sur; and through the coastal cities of Santa Cruz, Morro Bay, Santa Barbara, Ventura and Santa Monica ending in Santa Ana on May 25th, 2010.
 
I hope you agree that this is a worthy cause and that this deserves your support.  As with any charitable organization, all donations are tax-deductible and I will mail you a receipt for your donation as soon as it is received. 
 
I do realize that money is tight for many people right now, so please do not feel obligated to donate.  However, if you are able to, every little bit helps and the families of the fallen officers will be forever grateful.
 
I am not a fan of selling things, asking for help or even asking for money.  This event and organization pulls on my heart strings and I feel it is important that I do my part to support it.  In doing so, I am asking for your help.
 
Please make any checks payable to: PROJECT 999 and because your donation will be sponsoring my ride, please include my name on the for/memo line.
 
I sincerely appreciate your time in reading this letter.  Thank you for your help in supporting Project 999, the families of Fallen Officers and my Memorial Bike Ride in May. 
 
In Thanks,
Eric Murray
Deputy Sheriff
Orange County
Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

