Yummy Steamy Love

Last week I gushed over my love for the crockpot.  I didn’t think it could get much easier and yummier then the crockpot.  But this week my already existant love for the STEAMER BAG was enlightened in a whole new way! 

I have always used these bad boys strictly for veggies.  Darby LOVES broccoli (I am just waiting for her to realize it’s #1 that it’s good for her and #2 that like most kids, she “doesn’t like anything green”) and even ASKS me for it.  I can grab a handful of fresh broc, toss it in the bag and pop it in the microwave for a minute and half and vwala!  Perfectly cooked broccoli!  Super easy. 

I noticed that the steam bags come with recipes.  I shuttered at the thought of cooking MEAT in the microwave.  It just sounds disgusting.  One of the recipes is called  GREEK CHICKEN WITH POTATOES AND FETA.  Yum. I decided for the sake of my new recipe posting and love for anything easy, I would give it a shot. After all, I wouldn’t be alone, Eric has to eat it too!

Let me tell you, surprisingly IT IS SO GOOD! The chicken tastes like it has been marinated, when it hasn’t been at all. It is so juicy and flavorful. Let me fill you in on the simple scrumpcious-ness!

Greek Chicken with Potatoes & Feta

Combine in Medium or Large Ziploc Zip n’ Steam bag: (I used a medium)

2 boneless, skinless chicken breast halves; cut into bite-sized pieces
3 small potatoes, quartered and thinly sliced ( but I did 2 potatoes and more meat, Eric is a meat man)
1/2 cup crumbled feta cheese
1/4 cup kalamata olives, pitted and roughly chopped
1 tbsp lemon juice
1 tsp olive oil
3/4 tsp dried oregano
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp black pepper

Seal bag and shake gently to combine ingredients. (I had to reach my hand in and kind of mix it up a little) Pat ingredients into a single layer. Place bag in microwave.
Cook on full power 7-7 1/2 minutes, until chicken is cooked through, with no trace of pink. If needed, continue microwaving at 30 second intervals until done.

Allow bag to stand 1 min before handling. Gently shake bag to distribute seasonings. Carefully open bag.

I served it with some pita bread and it was delish!  You can top it with a little more feta and fresh oregano if you’d like. 

Who ever thought you could cook an entire meal in a bag in the microwave and have it taste so good? Not me!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Yummy Steamy Love

  1. Again, this looks really good! Who knew indeed!

Leave a Reply

