A Second Chance

Meatloaf gets a bad rap. Yes, it is a loaf of meat, but personally I don’t think the name does the finished product any justice.  Perhaps if it had been named something a bit more appealing it wouldn’t be shuttered at with the mere mention of it.  Now, there are some people who just absolutely LOVE meatloaf.  These people even order it when it’s on a menu when they are out to eat.  I have never understood why you would want to eat meatloaf in a restaurant.  But then again, I have always HATED meatloaf.  Until now. 

My Sister-in-law recently sent me a new cookbook:

Lot’s of down home country recipes, including meatloaf. 

Eric LOVES meatloaf.  One night while  we were watching tv, I was flipping through my new cookbook (I LOVE reading cookbooks and getting ideas. A cookbook with pictures is essential, and this one is fantastic!) .  I happened to mention there was a meatloaf recipe, and honestly kind of shuttered at the thought of making it!  Eric encouraged me to make it, ok begged me to make it, and said that maybe I should give meatloaf another chance in my “adulthood”.  He was right.  I still don’t find the term “meatloaf” appealing in the least, and actually can be quiet content eating a meal that is meat-less.  But, being older and fairly adventurous when it comes to eating different cuisines – really it was only fair if I gave it a second chance. 

So without further or do, I bring you the recipe of the week: MEATLOAF.

You will need:

For the MEATLOAF
1 cup milk
6 bread slices
2lbs ground beef
1 cup grated parmesan cheese
1 teaspoon salt
1/4 tsp seasoned salt
freshly ground black pepper
1/4 to 1/2 minced flat leaf parsley
4 eggs, beaten
8-12 thin bacon slices

For the Tomato Gravy
1 1/2 cups ketchup
6 tbsp brown sugar
1 tsp dry mustard
Dash or two or hot sauce – more if you like (to taste)

Preheat oven to 350

Pour the milk over the bread, allow it to soak in for several minutes.

Combine the ground beef, milk-soaked bread, parmesan cheese, salt, seasoned salt, black pepper, and parsley in a large bowl. Pour on the eggs.

Mix the ingredients until well combined.  The easiest way is to use your clean hands!

Form the mixture into a load shape on a broiler pan (for some reason I don’t have one, so I just used a baking dish).  The broiler pan will let the fat from the meat drain. 

Put the bacon slices on the meatloaf, tucking the ends underneath.

Now make your tomato gravy.  Put the ketchup in a small mixing bowl, add the brown sugar, dry mustard and hot sauce.  Put as much or as little as you want.  Don’t be afraid, it just gives it a little kick and makes it even yummier! Stir until well combined.

Spoon 1/3 of the tomato gravy over the top of the meatloaf so it is completely covered.

Bake for 45 minutes, then spoon another 1/3 of the remaining gravy over the meatloaf. Bake another 15 minutes.

Serve with the remaining tomato gravy on the side for dipping!

So thanks to Ree Drummond, in my adulthood, I LOVE meatloaf.  The other good news? I will be raising a CHILD that loves it too!

Trust me, if you give this recipe a try (and aren’t a vegetarian!) you wont be sorry.

3 Comments

Filed under Family, Recipes

3 responses to “A Second Chance

  1. Clara

    Hey Annie,
    I love your new blog!! I would love to be a follower….but I can’t find it…. where do you sign up to be a follower???????
    Love,
    Clara

  2. Clara

    P.S. That meatloaf looks really good….

  3. Holly

    Do that recipe, but stick it in the crockpot for 4-6 hours and it will be even more delicious! Oh, but put the glaze on in the last 1/2 hour.

Leave a Reply

