The Other White Meat

I’ve always been pretty impartial to Pork Chops.  Growing up my Mom usually made them with sauerkraut and apples and I just thought they were OK.  Just another food I’ve never ordered in a restaurant.  So when I came across this recipe for CHILI-RUBBED PORK CHOPS in my Food Network Magazine (March) I felt inspired to give it a shot.  So glad I did.  Not only is it simple, takes about 30ish minutes total, but it is YUMMY.  The deliciousness totally makes the serious post meal onion breath you will have ( that is guaranteed) worth it!!

 Here goes:

CHILI-RUBBED PORK CHOPS
serves 4

You will need:
2 large onions
1/3 cup New Mexico chili powder kosher salt (I had no idea what this is, never heard of it, nor could I find it. I substituted 1 and a half teaspoons Kosher salt and about 2 dashes of ground Cayenne Pepper . You can add more if you want it spicier)
1/2 tsp dried oregano (I used Mexican oregano)
1/2 tsp ground cumin
1/4 tsp ground cloves
2 cloves garlic, smashed
8 thin-cut boneless pork chops
Vegetable oil, for brushing

Roughly chop 1/2 onion and place in a blender with the chili powder, 1 1/2 tsp salt (if you are doing it my way add the cayenne too), oregano, cumin, cloves and garlic.  Puree, adding about 1/3 cup water to make a thick paste.

Slice the remaining 1 1/2 onion into thin rings,

place in a bowl with the chili puree and pork, toss to coat.

Lightly brush a large cast-iron skillet or grill pan with vegetable oil and place over high heat until almost smoking.

Place 4 pork chops in the skillet and surround with half of the onions.  Cook until the pork starts to blacken on the outside and is cooked though, about 4 minutes per side.  Repeat with remaining pork chops and onions.

To us, pork chops never tasted so good.  Next time, (Yes, there WILL be a next time!) I’d like to try to make it a little spicier to give it a little more kick. 

There you have it, my recipe of the week.  Give it a try, I don’t think you will be sorry you did!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “The Other White Meat

  1. Samina

    mmmm this looks good. I bought pork chops and wasn’t’ sure what I’d do with them..now I know. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

