The Best. Hands Down!

I heart macncheese. I craved dairy when I was pregnant with Darby, so she loves it too! I really don’t know anyone (ok I know ONE person, and still can’t understand it!) that doesn’t like macncheese.  It’s comforting and delicious.  When I noticed there was a macncheese recipe in my Pioneer Woman cookbook, I didn’t have to think twice about trying it out.  The last macncheese recipe I tried was from Martha Stewart. It was good, but I am always looking for better. This recipe is IT!

Macaroni and Cheese
makes 8 servings

4 cups dry macaroni
1 egg, beaten
1/2 cup butter (1/2 stick)
1/4 cup all purpose flour
2 1/2 cups whole milk
2 heaping teaspoons dry mustard
1 pound cheddar, grated (you can use any cheese you like)
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon seasoned salt
1 teaspoon ground black pepper

Cook the macaroni until very firm, it should be too firm to eat right out of the pot. Drain.

In a small bowl, beat the egg. Preheat the oven to 350 and butter a large baking dish.

In a large pot, melt the butter and sprinkle in the flour.

Whisk it together over medium low heat.  Cook for 5 minutes, whisking constantly.  Don’t let it burn!

Pour in the milk.

Add the mustard and whisk until smooth.  Cook for 5 minutes or until very thick, whisking constantly. Reduce heat to low.

To temper the eggs, slowly pour 1/4 cup of the sauce into the beaten egg, whisking constantly to avoid cooking the egg. Whisk until smooth.

Pour the egg mixture into the sauce, whisking until smooth.

Add all but 1/2 cup of the cheese and stir until melted.

Add the seasonings.  Taste the sauce and add more salt and seasoned salt as needed. 

Pour in the cooked, drained macaroni and stir to combine.

Pour into the baking dish and top with remaining cheese.

Bake for 20 to 25 minutes or until bubbly and golden on top!

I think it’s honestly the seasoned salt that makes this macncheese so super yummy.  I served it along side bbq chicken breasts and steamed green beans. It was a hit!

I’d like to add that I made this macncheese in the afternoon, put it together and popped it into the refrigerator until I was ready to bake it later for dinner.  Darby was in the kitchen, at my feet the entire time.  It is totally a manageable recipe to follow even with a toddler hindering.. uuuh helping!!!  🙂

Hope you give it a try!

1 Comment

Filed under Family, Recipes, Toddlers

One response to “The Best. Hands Down!

  1. Laquita

    Looks yummy ..and has no calories either!

Leave a Reply

