The Joy of the Casserole

Over the weekend I was poking around The Pioneer Womans website.  Ree has some awesome recipes and I just love her story! I noticed a link through her website to another called The Tasty Kitchen.  I instantly fell in love! There are some really good recipes and it seems to be a great cooking resource.

In my ongoing quest for simple and delish recipes I came across this recipe for a Chicken Tamale Casserole.  Keyword: Casserole; Casserole = easy!!! Plus, who doesn’t love a casserole?? It turned out super delish, slightly on the spicy side, so if you absolutely hate spice, or don’t do well with it, you might want to reduce the Red Pepper or just stay clear!

Chicken Tamale Casserole

1 box cornbread mix (I used Jiffy)
1 egg
1/3 cup milk
1 can (15oz) Corn
1 can (14.5 oz) Stewed Tomatoes (I used Mexican Stewed)
4 oz can chopped green chiles
1 tsp Cumin
1/8 tsp Ground Red Pepper
1 can (10 oz) Enchilada Sauce
2 cups cooked, shredded chicken (I used the breast meat from a precooked roasted chicken from the deli at the grocery store)
1 cup shredded cheese
Sour cream (optional topping)

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Crush tomatoes and combine with cornbread mix, egg, milk, corn, chilies, cumin and red pepper. 

Pour into a greased 13×9 pan and bake for 20-30 minutes, or until VERY well done (Dark brown on top, but not burned). 

While still hot, pierce the top liberally with a fork and pour on enchilada sauce. Top with chicken and cheese.

Bake for 15 minutes or until the cheese melts.

Serve and enjoy!

 

This casserole smelled SO good baking, and we were so starving, that I completely forgot to take my “finished product” picture before we started eating!  Even with the spice, it was enjoyed by Darby, my Mother in Law, Myself and Eric! 

Another successful recipe of the week!  Hope you give it a try and are able enjoy it as much as we did!

Leave a comment

Filed under Family, Recipes

Leave a Reply

