Easy Banana Bread

If you are anything like us, from time to time we end up with a few overripe bananas.  What do you do with overripe bananas? Make banana bread, of course! A friend of mine recently shared her easy banana bread recipe with me so of course I had to give it a shot.  The smell of this bread baking will torture you while it’s in the oven. It smells so good.. and tastes even better! Yummy!

Easy Banana Bread

2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup butter
3/4 cup brown sugar
2 eggs, beaten
2 1/3 cups mashed overripe bananas

Preheat oven to 350 and lightly grease a 9×5 inch loaf pan.
In a large bowl, combine flour, baking soda and salt.

In a separate bowl, cream together butter and brown sugar. Stir in eggs and mashed bananas until well blended.

Stir banana mixture into flour mixture; stir just to moisten. Pour batter into prepared loaf pan.


Bake in preheated oven for 60 to 65 minutes (it was about 50 minutes in my oven),  or until a toothpick inserted into center of the loaf comes out clean.
Let bread cool in pan for 10 minutes, then turn out onto a wire rack.

I’m not a fan of nutty banana bread, but if you are, you could also add some walnuts! This banana bread is easy and yummy – just the way I like my recipes to be!

2 Comments

Filed under Family

2 responses to “Easy Banana Bread

  1. I made banana bread the other day, and we went through it way too fast. So more will just have to be made this weekend. But I wish I had a red loafpan like yours to make it in — I’m quite sure that would make it taste even better. Where did you get it? And your bread looks very delicious by the way.

    Love,
    Aunt Monica

  2. Jim

    This is my new favorite recipe! I’ll be sure to share it with my friends. Thanks for sharing it with me! I’ll really enjoy having this. KUDOS!

Leave a Reply

