Santa’s Lap!

I had been worried that Finn would make an early appearance and we both wouldn’t be able to take Darby to sit on Santa’s lap this year. (With whooping-cough around California like wild-fire, Finn wont be going a lot of places for the first 3 months of his life!)  But it’s really starting to look like little Finn is going to follow suit with his big Sis and be fashionably late – possibly evicted!  There is still time before that would happen, but I’m not going to get my hopes up too high! I’m still REALLY praying that he comes on his own, but I just don’t feel good about waiting too long past my due date.  I have an appointment on Monday and will be 2 days into my 41st week at that point (40weeks+2days), so if he hasn’t wanted out before then, we will schedule to be induced.

Even so, I am so happy that we were able to take Darby to sit on Santa’s lap at South Coast Plaza last weekend!  Now that she is more “toddler” we weren’t really sure how the whole “sitting on Santa’s lap” would be received.  Luckily, there were no tears, but there weren’t smiles either!  We were still happy, Darby just looked SO perfect in her beautiful Christmas dress (very special from her Great Aunt Lynne and Great Uncle Kevin, just like last year!).  She posed for pictures and nicely told Santa what she wants for Christmas – a ‘Hide and Seek Jojo’ – a bunny rabbit with a carrot you hold that will play hide and seek with you.  He comes to find you! It is really all she talks about, she is going to be so excited on Christmas eve when “Santa” over at her Grammy Julie and Grandpa’s house make her wish come true.

Here are some pictures from our trip to South Coast Plaza that included a ride on the Christmas Carousel – Darby’s favorite!

Here are a few videos:

In Finn news: the waiting continues!  I was really confident for a while that he was coming early… but like I said, I’m not so sure now!  I’ve been having contractions here and there, specially when I’m on a walk or shopping, but nothing that is steady or increases.  The other night after a spicy dinner of yummy Thai food, at about 1am I started contracting and did for a few hours.. then fell back to sleep and woke up normal again. So keep standing by! Hopefully we will have some happy news by the end of the weekend and will officially be a family of 4 (well 5, if you include our dog!)!

1 Comment

Filed under Family, Holidays, Toddlers

One response to “Santa’s Lap!

  1. Laquita

    Love the Santa pictures! What a lucky little girl Darby is, to have Aunt Lynn buy her beautiful dresses. I thought she’d be wearing last year’s dress this year, or has she already outgrown it? This will probably be the last chance we’ll get to see the “family of three”. By this time next week, I expect you’ll be a “family of four”. Does Eric know how to post on your blog? I don’t expect you to stop and do it, as you are on your way out the door to the hospital, but the excitement is building! Best wishes for a smooth and “painless” delivery, you’re in my heart. 🙂

Leave a Reply

