LUCKY (plus a recipe!)

Yesterday Darby and I were lucky.  Lucky to have an Angel on my shoulder that told me to look to my left when I was making a left-hand turn through an intersection (on a green arrow), lucky to have 2 hands on the wheel (just as my Dad taught me) and lucky to have a great insurance agent who went above and beyond in counseling me after the accident! 

An old man ran a red light. Majorly ran a red light. If I hadn’t seen him coming and put the pedal to the medal, he would have run into my driver’s side door and who knows how that would have ended.  I am very shaken up.  Darby is ok, she was just concerned after the hit “What happened Mommy??”  I cleared the intersection and immediately dialed 911.  While on the phone with the Police Department, the “careless driver” approached me and asked if we were ok. He said he was fine, that it was his fault – he hadn’t “seen the light” and that he would give me all his information. The Police Department said it was not necessary for them to come out if we were comfortable exchanging information, the cars were driveable and there were no injuries.  So I said OK, and hung up.  I really regret not getting an officer to come out and write-up a report. This was my first accident like this. The only other one I’d been in was a rear ender about 7 yrs ago, and it was my fault.

Long story short, after an entire afternoon (exhausting!) on the phone with his insurance company and mine, he decided to change his story and say he had a green light. I. HATE. LIARS.  I am so upset. If he really thought it was MY fault, why did he not even write down as much as my NAME!?  I had called to report it to his insurance company, since he had admitted fault, made a claim, made a recorded statement with the adjuster, answered a million questions.  Seemed pretty cut and dry, then he said he wasn’t liable.  Moron.  So on we go to arbitration.  The Jeep is already in the shop and the insurance company has already put a check in the mail to cover the full price plus tax of Darby’s Britax car seat.  It’s a waiting game from here on out and we just have to wait, let the insurance company do their job and hope for the best. What a pain.

Obviously MOST importantly beyond all the stress of this accident is the fact that we are lucky enough to be OK.  It makes me so upset to think about what would have happened if I hadn’t seen him coming, of something happening to my little Darby who has barely had a chance at life. 

Please Drive safely! For yourself and everyone in the cars around you. EVERY life is precious, even the lives of careless drivers.  We each need to do our part on the road, and MOST importantly, PAY ATTENTION!

With that, it TOTALLY slipped my mind while I was throwing my recipe in the crock pot yesterday afternoon that I was supposed to be taking pictures for my recipe of the week.  So I don’t have any step by step pictures, but I have a final finished product picture for you.  I found this recipe on the Tasty Kitchen website and it fit my criteria – EASY and delish!  These Chili Lime Chicken Tostadas were super yummy and fun.  You could also use the chicken for a variety of things – tacos, burritos, enchiladas… lots of possibilities!

Chili Lime Chicken Tostadas

  • 1 can (4 Oz. Can) Diced Green Chilies
  • 4 cloves Of Minced Garlic
  • 3 Tablespoons Chili Powder
  • 1-½ Tablespoon Lime Juice
  • 1 whole Diced Medium Onion
  • 2 pounds Boneless Skinless Chicken Breasts
  • 1 can (16 Oz. Can) Refried Beans
  • Tostada Shells
  • Desired Toppings (we used: olives, tomatoes, lettuce, cheese, refried beans, shredded cheese, salsa and sour cream)
  • Add chicken and onion to slow cooker.
    In a bowl, combine green chilies, garlic, chili powder, and lime juice.
    Pour over the chicken.
    Cover and cook on low for 5 to 6 hours.
    (I was late (big surprise after my day!) at getting it in the crock pot, so I cooked mine on high for about 3 1/2-4 hrs)
     Remove chicken from the slow cooker and shred. Mix in 1/2 cup of juice remaining in the slow cooker to the shredded chicken.


    Spread warmed refried beans on tostada shells.
    Top with the hot chicken mixture and any other desired toppings.

    It was a hit, and here are some happy faces to prove it!

    Thank God for protecting Darby and I in our accident, and for recipes like this that are manageable even with a crazy day like yesterday!

    Hope you all give it a try and enjoy it as much as we did!

    4 Comments

    Filed under Family, Recipes

    4 responses to “LUCKY (plus a recipe!)

    1. Geez Annie, glad you made it out ok! Guess you had 2 guardian angels because Darby’s was there too, so that must have made the difference 🙂

      I had an accident like that in high school – except it was my fault and my Dad’s truck ended up being totalled. Both me (the driver) and my bf were ok, but it really made me reevaluate my life – confession, college decision, prayer life, etc. It’s such a life changing event, and hopefully it’ll change you for the better! (Although I’m not sure if you and Darby can get any better than you already are!!)

    2. Ann Bramlette

      I am so glad you are both okay! I know that was scary!! And your recipe looks & sounds yummy. I think I’m going to try the banana bread this weekend cause I LOVE banana bread & it sounded pretty easy. Nate likes bananas too so maybe he’ll enjoy the bread. Loves to you and Darbs!!

      ~Ann

    3. Mandie

      OMG Annie, what a freaky accident. Too bad you didn’t get that cop for that stupid dude but we are just glad you and D are safe. Hope things get squared out soon for you. Your recipes always look so delish I really need to try some of them when I have the time to actually be creative with food. Have been so busy with school and work I always just end up cooking the same things over and over. One of these days hopefully I will be hitched and can be a stay-home mom and cook all day! I love cooking! Wish I had more time to do it.

      I love your cooking blogs coz it reminds me of that movie I love, Julie & Julia it is I think. Keep up the good work and I will let you know when i get to try your recipes one of these days!

      Stay safe hun! Your guardian angels were definitely working hard that day!

      xoxoxo!

    4. Laquita

      You’re just too nice, to believe what the driver of the other car told you. Since you are SO nice, he thought he could put one over on you. Live and learn, but not at the expense of you and beautiful Darby!

      Happened to me years ago, the other driver said he was fine, I didn’t call the Police, and then I was served with papers and he was suing for a million dollars! Naturally, he didn’t get it (he got nothing)! That’s when I learned to always, always, always call the Police and file a report.

    Leave a comment